top of page
  • chloemoulding6

Spink and Thackray Book Binders

Spink and Thackray are a luxury book binding company based in Leeds. With a small team they create both commercial and generalised works but they also do bespoke books. For my final major project I chose to create a book and I wanted to have a professional commercial output of my final work. Therefore I chose to get in contact with this company, which I did by filling in their contact box on their website. However, I did not receive any response after a week of waiting, so I directly contacted the Binders shop, which someone was quick to answer, very professional and apologetic that they had not replied to me sooner.


After many emails back and forth, between myself and the company I received a invoice with all of my specifications for the creation of my bespoke hard back book. Happy with what I had read and written on previous emails I paid for the service. Around a week later I received my book in the post. But unfortunately I had some issues with the printed format.

This was no fault of my own, as I had clearly stated my requirements and specifications in email, this was down to the company and with potentially rushing or lack of communication with me (the client) during the making process. What I had received was a book that had a title that did not appear to the eye or touch as a embosses foil writing, with the embossing being pressed wonky and my name also added to the cover when I never stated for this to be included.

Also I had no coloured end papers in the book, these were left white which in email and over the phone I had clearly stated that I would like a shade of pink or red to go with the narrative of my photobook.

So via email I stated all of the faults and issues with my order that I received that day. Fortunately the company was really understanding and apologised for making some presumptions about some of the fine details in the fabrication of the book. They offered to re-print and bind another copy of my book for me with compliments from the team at Spink and Thackray, which I then made clear of the alterations that needed to be done and applied to this next version, which I still await.


bottom of page